Customer Reviews of Red Hall Holiday Cottages

"3rd stay at this beautiful cottage. Spotlessly clean, lovely comfortable beds. Still loving the welcome basket. Beautiful countryside. Really relaxing break." - Sue Bolton, Leeds, The Old Bothy, May 2017

 "Fantastic cottages, we absolutely loved it! So clean and with everything we needed. Cannot wait to come back!! - Josie Howard, Waltham Abbey, The Old Grainstore, May 2017

"Such a great cottage with all we needed for the kids. So friendly and helpful. Thanks for having us, it was great!" - Anna, Dylan and kids, The Old Bothy, April 2017

"What a fabulous cottage, really well finished, comfortable and homely." - Cheshire family, Carrickfergus, The Old Grainstore, April 2017

"The best self catering cottage we have ever stayed in. Thank you very much for the warm welcome, we absolutely loved it!!! We wil be back!" - Neville family, Herfordshire, April 2017

"Beautiful holiday cottage. Amazingly equipped and so comfortable. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. We loved the welcome basket". - Sanchez & Glossop families, Chester - The Old Grainstore, April 2017

"Absolutely gorgeous cottage! Beautiful area, hope to be back!" - Peoples family, N. Ireland, The Old Bothy April 2017

"What can I say, don't think this cottage could be any better". - Sue & Terry Gabriel, Drury - The Old Grainstore, March 2017

"Fantastic stay at a very cosy cottage! Lovely experience exploring the Lake District". - Vora family, London - The Old Bothy, April 2017

"Such a beautifully finished cottage. We loved the warm welcome and our one year old adored the friendly dogs". - Sarah Stocks & family, Edinburgh, The Old Grainstore, March 2017

"Lovely stay, great cottage. Super base for exploring the Lakes" - Kelly family, Edinburgh, The Old Bothy, April 2017

 

"Our third stay - and there will be more - just superb everytime. First class in all aspects - we love the Welcome Basket!" - George & Jacqueline, Tyne & Wear, The Old Bothy - February 17


"Wonderful place - super comfy beds. kIds loved the games you left out. Everything beautiful" - Kendall & Hanbury families, West Yorkshire- The Old Grainstore, January 17

"A relaxing, enjoyable break in your cosy, well equipped, lovely cottage. So peaceful. Welcome basket much appreciated. We loved the log burner". - Suzanne & Jim, Leeds - The Old Bothy, January 17

"We came back and that's how highly we recommend this place. Lovely people, great facilities - thankyou!" - Niblett & Pear families, Cheltenham, The Old Grainstore, Christmas/New Year 2017

"Three days of unbroken sunshine. Late Autumn colours and snow on the fells - what more could we ask? Oh yes, your superb cottage - thanks once again". - Peter, David & Lou, Preston - The Old Bothy, November 2016

"SUPERB as always - see you next year!" - Karen and Darren, Bolton - The Old Grainstore, December 2016

"Another great weekend in a great place - til next time!" - Sophie & Sam, Wirrall - The Old Bothy, November 16

"This should be 5* - fantastic accommodation (second visit). Joanne and Martin so welcoming - Jenkins family, Newcastle, The Old Grainstore, November 16

"This is just what we needed! Exceeded our expectations. Beautiful and relaxing accommodation, wonderful hosts. Perfect family holiday". - The Pipers, Edinbugh, October 16

"AMAZING place to stay! We will definately be back" - Valeria, Bedford - The Old Grainstore, November 16

"We have had an enjoyable week in this lovely cottage. Lovely hosts and wonderful work for the environment and biodiversity. We will be back". - Lesley & David Yound, Salford - The Old Bothy, October 16

"A great cottage and warm friendly hosts. A real credit to you and a joy to share" - The Woodhill & Robbins 'clan' - Kent - The Old Grainstore, October 16

"Wonderful cottage - you definately deserve the 5* rating on Trip Advisor. Everything has been thought of and lovely welcome hamper too! The ice cream van, dogs and calf feeding made the holiday extra special". - Gina, Rupert, Jay & Sofia, Glasgow - The Oldd Grainstore - October 16

 

"The best self catering cottage we have stayed in (over 30 years)" - C & K Coulter, Buckinghamshire - The Old Bothy, October 2016

"This is the very best you can get for a totally perfect farm stay!!! This truly is 5 star accommodation with the attention to detail that is simply breathtaking! So well done Joanne and Martin, I had the most amazing few days!!! I haven't slept so well for many months!!!

I hope Spotty the calf does well, she's certainly brave and bold and my fleece will always remind me of her!!!

Thank you so much for your gorgeous hospitality I've loved it!!! See you next year!" - Bethany & Ros, Dorset - The Old Grainstore, September 2016

"Had a fantastic week. The cottage is lovely - we don't want to leave! Our boys loved the dogs, feeding the calves and picking brambles - thank you!" - The Moss family, Leeds - The Old Bothy August 2016

"Lovely :-) Everything fantastic - we have a rule that we don't stay in the same place twice, but think we have found the exception!" - Sarah, David, Jack & Matthew, Norwich - The Old Bothy August 2016

"We had a fantastic holiday. The cottage is beautiful with everything we needed for our stay. Will definately return". - The Millbank family, Watford - The Old Bothy August 2016

"By far the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Absolutely all you could ever need has been provided. A beautiful cottage in a pretty location & the friendliest hosts. We will be back". - Arthur, Susan & Nicola, Oldham - The Old Bothy June 2016

"Great cottage, very comfortable, everything you need and good location for exploring the area". - Salter family, Pontefract - The Old Grainstore, June 2016

"Now our favourite cottage in England! We will certainely repeat and visit again!" - Neil & Kate Edwards, Skipton - The Old Bothy, June 2016

"Thank you for a great cottage. Everything we needed and more. We love the personal touches. We will definately be booking a return visit. Home from home". - Cheryl, Abygale, India, Hattie & Orla, St Helens - The Old Grainstore, June 2016

"Joanne and Martin have created a magic place. We have loved seeing the various birds (and nests couertesy of a remarkable Martin), interacting with the dogs. Very sad to leave. A great place to stay if one is into conservation." - Katrin & Roger Both, Adelaide, South Australia - The Old Bothy, June 2016

"Such a lovely stay. We hope to come back." - Claire, Nick, Anrella & Lorenzo, London - The Old Grainstore, June 2016

"We have all had a fantastic holiday. The Old Bothy is a lovely cottage. We love all the little extras, it's a great place for all the family. The garden is great for our little ones to run and play in". - Metcalfe family, Harrogate, The Old Bothy June 2016 

"This was our second stay and just as enjoyable as last time. The cottages is so well maintained and well equipped for families. We hope to be back for more visits." - Stuart, Laura & Morray Allan, Kinross - The Old Grainstore, May 2016

"We have had a wonderful holiday staying in The Old Bothy. So lovely and cosy - everything we could wish for. Love to stay again." - Dave & Sharon Phillips, Kent - The Old Bothy, May 2016


"Truly wonderful - a joy to be here. So comfortable and full of loveliness!" - Knights & Wallaces, Newcastle - The Old Grainstore, May 2016

"Really excellent holiday - cottage was lovely with everything we needed. So much room for our little one to run around and such a lovely spot to do it in!" - Emma, Stephen & Isla, Surrey - The Old Bothy - May 2016 

"An AMAZING week! Thankyou so much for making us all feel so welcome. The little touches meant so much. Can't wait to come back!" - Christina, Luke, Ashton & Phoenix, Herts - The Old Grainstore - April 2016

"The cottage and furnishings first class!" - Susan, Barry, Leon & Imarie, The Old Bothy, April 2016

"Beautiful cottages, amazed at how well equipped it is. Lovely and clean and loved the furnishings. Hospitality superb too. Thank you!" - Dorothy, Alison, Janine & Rik, Bolton - The Old Bothy, April 2016

"Beautiful accommodation, fantastic place!" - Stuart, Sarah, Keira & Callum, Kilmarnock -  The Old Bothy, April 2016

"Lovely time, great place - kept two teenagers happy!" - The Noble family, Nottingham - The Old Bothy, April 2016

"Our first time in the Old Bothy. but our third time on the farm. Fantastic cottage and facilities, can't fault it in any way." - Mark, Laura & Sophie, Sittingbourne - The Old Bothy, April 2016

"Fabulous stay - 3 days has felt like 3 weeks! Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We recommend wholeheartedly and will be back" - The Sykes family, Bolton -  The Old Bothy, April 2016

"What a wonderful cottage! It was perfect for Easter weekend - we will definately be back soon. 10/10 - the best cottage we've stayed in." - Eliiott, Rebecca, Gerry, Dianne - Kingston-upon-Thames, The Old Grainstore, March 2016

"Lovely cottage Lovely area Lovely Owners = Perfection - 5 Star!! - Les & Heather - Co Durham- The Old Grainstore - March 2016

"What an awesome cottage - just like being at home. We will definately be coming back!" - Danny, Marv & Terry - Gloucestershire - The Old Grainstore, February 2016

"Beautiful cottage, extremely well equipped. Owners very welcoming - thank you!" - The Taylor family, Milton Keynes - The Old Grainstore - February 2016

"Lovely cottage, well equipped - home from home! Great location and lovely owners. We will definately return". - Charlene, Mark, Lily & Poppy, Manchester - The Old Grainstore - January 2016

"Yet another fantastic, relaxing stay at The Old Bothy. We love it here, 'home from home'! Happy New Year and thank you" - Jeff & Sue, Morecombe - The Old Bothy, January 2016

"Had a great stay, lovely setting and accommodation. Great attention to detail and made to feel really welcome". - Huw, Anne & Emily, Scotland - The Old Bothy, December 2015

"Really great cottage. Had a glorious week". - John, Herts - The Old Grainstore, December 2015

"Superb cottage, well equipped and tastefully decorated". - Maree, Herts - The Old Grainstore, December 2015

"Wow, this is truly wonderful, just what we needed and more. Thank you both, we have never stayed in a better place. See you again soon!" - Roger & Linda - The Old Bothy, December 2016

"Wonderful yet again! Look forward to returning in April". - Karen & Darren, Bolton - The Old Grainstore, December 2015

"Amazing holiday cottage, couldn't want for anything better. We really didn't want to leave. We will be back soon". - Rachel & Michael, Malton, North Yorks - The Old Bothy, November 2015

"The cottage was beautiful, we will definfately be back! Thank you". - Natalie, Chester - The Old Grainstore, November 2015

"One of the very best holiday cottages we have stayed in. We wanted for nothing. Knew we were onto a good thing when we were greeted by a Black Redstart on the roof!" - Nigel & Margaret, Fife - The Old Bothy, November 2015

"The cottage was cosy with the wood burning stove and spacious with plenty of room. Lovely bedrooms with comfortable beds. Loved this cottage and the area. Would definitely return.” Mrs Wildmore, Worthing - The Old Grainstore, October 2015

"We have had a fabulous holiday in your beautiful cottage. Thanks so much, we will be booking again!" - The Clarks, East Boldon, The Old Bothy, October 2015

“This is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday. The Old Bothy is tastefully decorated, has all mod cons, and is surprisingly spacious. It is ideally located both for The Lake District & Hadrian's Wall walks. Joanne and Martin are so nice and helpful and everything about the accommodation has been thought through most carefully.It was everything we had hoped for!” Roy & Sarah, London - The Old Bothy, October 2015

"We have enjoyed our stay here very much. Comfortable beds, excellent heating throughout the house and wonderful showers. Plenty to see and do all over the place". - Bennet, Elizabeth & Lorna McInnes, Perthshire - The Old Grainstore, October 2015

"Beautiful cottage, which exceeded our expectations. Perfect for a quiet getaway with everything you need. We were made to feel perfectly at home the moment we arrived and we would definitely recommend and would definitely go back.” Mr Hodge, Sunderland, The Old Bothy, October 2015

“The Old Grainstore was beautiful and we all had a wonderful holiday. The owners have paid so much attention to detail, from the well stocked kitchen, lovely comfortable beds, first class heating and showers and the great outside space. The accommodation is near so many attractions but you could easily spend the day relaxing at home. We will definitely be back.” G. Thorburn, Glasgow - The Old Grainstore, October 2015

"Fabulous accomodation, beautifully clean and a relaxing haven. Wonderful hosts, very welcoming. We have really enjoyed our stay and will be back". - Sue, Carol, Ann & Judy, Leeds - The Old Bothy, September 2015

"Quite simply, this is the best holiday cottage we have stayed in in the last 10 years. Absolutely everything you need, so well equipped. We have loved our stay" - Sam, Ann and Gwendalyn, Northern Ireland - The Old Bothy, September 2015

"Truly luxurious cottage with excellent attention to detail. Hosts were very wecoming, not least the dogs! Everything you need and more for a perfect holiday in a perfect part of the UK. Thank you!!" - Faulkner & Lonsdale, Cheshire - The Old Grainstore, September 2015

"A super holiday home - a delightful stay. Hosts very welcoming." - Steven & Lenone, Birmingham, The Old Bothy, August 2015

"This is our 3rd visit. Always a pleasure, everyone is well catered for from 1 years plus." - The Riden family, Grimsby - The Old Grainstore - August 2015

 

"Wonderful as always. Enjoyed our cosy week here. See you in December!" - Karen & Darren, Bolton - The Old Bothy, August 2015

 

"Something for everyone! We all had a fantastic time. The cottage was delightful and the location a real adventure." - The Bailey family, Somerset - The Old Grainstore, August 2015

 

"What a wonderful week in The Old Bothy, a fantastic base for exploring Cumbria. Loved coming back to the peaceful farm after busy days out. Kids loved the dogs!". - The McLennan family, Edinburgh - The Old Bothy, August 2015

 

"We have really enjoyed our stay. The Kids loved, loved, loved the dogs and the baby calves. Wonderful place!" - DeWitt family, The Netherlands - The Old Grainstore, July/August 2015

 

"We have loved every minute of our stay in The Old Bothy. The kids adored the dogs, espeically Pippin and Poppy. Thank you for your hospitality". - The Hunter family, Tyne & Wear - The Old Bothy, July 2015

 

"A beautiful barn to stay in. Immaculate and well-equipped and a good place to explore the Lakes". - The Bailey family, Sunderland - The Old Bothy, July 2015

"Outstanding cottage. We first rented a holiday cottage 54 years ago and this is by far the best we have stayed in. Excellent." - A & PA Horton, Leeds - The Old Bothy, July 2015

"What a wonderful place to stay! The cottage is beautiful, clean and very tastefully decorated. We loved it!" - The Jones family, Australia - The Old Grainstore, July 2015

"Absolutely wonderful place to stay. Our Son loved the cows and friendly dogs. Joanne and Martin gave us the warmest of welcomes. Will be back soon". - Emma, Stace, Seth, Sue & Dave, Derby - The Old Grainstore, July 2015

"This is our second visit and what a great time we had. Could not wish for lovlier accommodation and we love being on a working farm. Looking forward to our next visit soon" - Eileen & Martin Innes, Buckinghamshire - The Old Grainstore, June 2015

"Just my kind of place - peaceful, comfortable, eco-friendly and with all ameneties we could need. We were made most welcome" - John and Susan, Washington - June 2015

"Fantastic time spent here. Warm and welcomng, would certainely come again! Could not ask for a better place to stay!" - Ian Dollery, Gloucestershire - The Old Grainstore, June 2015

Wouldn`t change a thing. We have loved staying in The Old Bothy. The cottage was even better in real life than the pictures online - which so often is not the case!! Much care and thought has gone into the cottages and it is much appreciated. We will definately be back!" - Claire, Paul & Erin, Worksop - The Old Bothy, May 2015

"We have been coming to holiday cottages for the last 30 years. Quite simply, your cottage is the best ever, so thank you very much indeed!" - Peter & David Ainsworth, Fulwood - The Old Bothy, April 2015


"Lovely cottage is a lovely location. Kitchen really well equipped!" - Lara Bishop, Worcester - The Old Grainstore - April/May 2015

"This was our 3rd visit to The Old Bothy and a great time was had by all again! - The Nicholson family, Sunderland - The Old Bothy, April 2015

"Fantastic stay - thank you, you made us so welcome. For our little ones you went over and above what we might have expected - 5 star!" - Ian & Maggi Reid, London & the Reid clan from Glasgow - The Old Grainstore, April 2015

"Lovely comfortable, warm cottage with an interesting history. Welcoming hosts too. A good location for expoloring and quiet relaxation". - Chris & Marion, Sheffield - The Old Bothy, April 2015

“We had a lovely stay at The Old Bothy. The presentation and décor are to a very high standard throughout. We had a warm welcome from the owner who has put together a comprehensive list of attractions for families (and those without little ones) which kept us busy for our whole stay. The cottage has a wonderful mix of cosy features and attractive original features. Our 2 year old loved petting the farm dogs and watching the calves feeding. The play garden was ideal for letting off a bit of toddler steam too!” - Joe, Abigail & Lottie, Chester - The Old Bothy, March 2015

"Wonderful place, cottage is gorgeous. We have been to places all over the World, but the welcome here was the warmest ever. The cottage is stocked with every essential you need. The family are friendly and very thoughtful. We will stay again". - Ann Marie & Stan Fletcher, Liverpool - The Old Grainstore, March 2015

"Fantastic location, very central (we visited Keswick, Gretna, Carlisle and Penrith). The property has been renovated to a very high standard and beds were comfortable. Lots of nice touches, such as jam, eggs and cake on arrival and Joanne even put the log burner on for us so that i was cosy when we arrived. Lovely relaxing break, hope to visit again soon". - Sophie & Ross, The Wirral- The Old Bothy, March 2015

"Beautiful cottage, this is definately a home from home. Had a wonderful time and can`t wait to return. 5 star property and 5 star hospitality!" - Lee, Jenna & Jaidyn, Essex - The Old Bothy, February 2015

"A fabulous stay, we loved the cottage!" - Vladamier & Valeriia, Russia - The Old Bothy, February 2015

"Wonderful time on Red Hall Farm, we would love to visit again!" - Rousseau, Rhian, Noah, Esther & Rachel, The Old Grainstore - February 2015

"I loved bringing the family here. So much so I have reviewed you 5* everywhere possible. We are coming back! Thank you so much! - Jay, Laura, Zachery & Esther, Gloucestershire - The Old Bothy, January 2015

"Thanks Joanne & family - we have had an amazing time in this lovely cottage. We didn`t want to leave! We hope to return soon." - Miriam, Lesley, Alecia & Aaron, London - The Old Grainstore, January 2015

"Great stay, beautiful accommodation, friendly owners and just lovely overall! Thank you." - Sairah, Amer & Layla, Manchester - The Old Bothy, January 2015

"Fantastic stay. Great accommodation, beautiful location and excellent hosts. Top marks! - Richard, Gemma & Hudson, Oxfordshire - The Old Bothy, January 2015

"Fantastic stay, the cottage is so lovely - very warm, friendly and homely. A gorgeous country break to celebrate New Year." - Amy, Chris, Jack, Beccy, Kathryn, Tom and kids, Lincolnshire - The Old Grainstore, January 2015

"Loved the cottage in every way, all the little touches that make home were a delight, amazing Christmas tree and decorations!"Thank you" - Tammatha & Gary, London - The Old Bothy, December 2014

"The most amazing Christmas holiday made so special by the lovely hospitality and warm welcome of the Barid family! Wonderful memories that we will forever cherish! Thank you for everything!" - Colin, Suzanne, Ben & Jack Martin, Alabama, USA - The Old Grainstore, December 2014 

"Fantastic cottage, beautifully done, very friendly - thank you" - Becky & Tom, Oxfordshire - The Old Bothy, November 2014

"Perfect cottage in every way" - Gill & Ron, Mid Wales - The Old Bothy, November 2014

"Perfect stay, lovely cottage - can`t wait to get back - already planning another stay!" - Amanda & Ben, Leeds - The Old Bothy, November 2014

"Another fantastic holiday here" - Arthur & Freda, Sittingbourne - The Old Bothy, November 2014

"Excellent accommodation, very warm welcome from Joanne and Martin. We have really enjoyed our stay here. Love Cumbria!" - Eileen & Martin, Bucks - The Old Grainstore, November 2014

"Amazing attention to detail, everything we could possibly need was provided. The cottage was beautiful and we would love to come back!" - Simon, Caroline, Thomas, Alex & Logan, North Yorkshire - The Old Bothy, October 2014

"We would recommend you to anyone. We have had an excellent week. Your hositality and accommodation contributed to that. Thank you!" - Caroline & Gerry, Kent - The Old Bothy, October 2014

"Would highly recommended. homemade scones and jam on arrival lovely touch. Well equipped kitchen. Gorgeous bedrooms and lounge all fitted to a high standard. children would love seeing the cows so close up. Will definitely be returning.” - Ann & Adam, Sue & Chris - The Old Grainstore, October 2014

"Wonderful time in a beautiful cottage, well equipped and excellent hosts" - The Clow family, Scotland - The Old Bothy, October 2014

"We have all had a very enjoyable stay here! Wonderful accommodation in a beautiful setting" - Claire, Paul, Jamie and Layla - Cheshire - The Old Bothy - October 2014

"Lovely cosy cottage, we really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you" - Richard & Pauline, West Yorks - The Old Bothy, October 2014

"We had a lovely time here. Some fantastic days out. Great place and  location to stay" - Carl, Layla, Honey, Dan & Mary, Norfolk - The Old Grainstore- October 2014

"This is a beautiful cottage, we would like to return" - Janice and Stuart Gibson, Sheffield - The Old Bothy, September 2014

"Home from home, lovely place" - Michael and Ann Hopkins, Ireland - The Old Grainstore, September 2014

"Everything from the homemade cakes to the log burner were perfect. We have had the most wonderful stay here". - Michael and Emma, The Old Bothy, September 2014

"Gorgeous , wonderful, excellent, everything and more. The property is the best anyone could ever wish for , every room is well equipped with everything that you will need for your stay. Martin and Joanne , Will and the dogs have made our stay here a wonderful experience and one that we and our two year old grandson will not forget. We really can't speak highly enough about a week that has been pure pleasure. Thanks again and we will see you all next year . A fantastic place to see the wildlife, birds and the added bonus of being an Eco friendly farm .”- The Welsh family, Huddersfield - The Old Grainstore, September 2014

"Martin and Joanne have created a holiday space in which, for the first time, we felt immediately comfortable and welcomed, at ease and in a place which cares for the environment! We would endorse this approach fully!" - Peter & Anna, Salisbury, - The Old Bothy, September 2014

"The cottage was perfect in every way. Lovely welcome basket. Great weather all week with splendid walks around Bassenthwaite. Beautiful scenery, just the perfect package - THANK YOU!" - Richard & Margaret, Lincolnshire, The Old Bothy, September 2014

"We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. You have a gorgeous place, set in such beautiful countryside". - Emily, Adam & Laurie, Huddersfield - The Old Grainstore, September 2014

The Grainstore experience was excellent, the property is very clean, well presented, modern with character and met our needs perfectly. The family run farm is lovely, the owners Joanne and Martin are very welcoming but respect your privacy too, they are helpful and have provided a wealth of information on the surrounding area and places to visit. The farm dogs are a bonus in my opinion and happy to be fussed. The spacious layout in the Grainstore is a bonus and having 2 bathrooms with a 3rd toilet downstairs is advantageous.Would highly recommend this property to all parties, one of the best I have stayed in for a long time. Thank you for your hospitality" - Mrs Bower, Coventry - The Old Grainstore, August 2014

"Well, what can we say - a lovely place, clean and very well equipped cottage and a fantastic location :) - Sheila & Barry, Joanne & Mark, Yorkshire - The Old Bohty, August 2014

" What an amazing find. Had a wonderful relaxing week. Cottage beautiful, lovely touches. Joanne, Martin, Jess and Will very friendly and helpful. Will definately recommend to our friends and hope to come back soon". - Karl & Bernice, Imogen & Jessica - West Yorkshire - The Old Bothy, August 2014

"A beautiful well equipped cottage. Very clean and decor is lovely. Loved all the gadgetry and mod cons! Shower was so nice after a long walk!! Thank you, we would highly recommend and will certainely return. Beautiful location too! - The Davies family, Nottingham - The Old Bothy, August 2014

"Beautiful home, lovely stay - like home from home. Thank you for all the little extras, we had a wonderful time and would come again. Thank you". - Mike, Carla, Ruby, Chris & Tony - The Old Grainstore, August 2014

"Absolutely wonderful cottage! Beautifully decorated & has everything we needed! Thanks for the bread & scones and the toys for Thomas, nice touch! We will definately stay again!" - Pippa Jagger, Adam Clamp & baby Thomas - The Old Grainstore, August 2014

"The cottage was perfect for a fab weekend break. Comfy, very clean and full of all amenities you need. Good location to be able to explore the Lake District. Would definately recommend and come again. Thank you". - Emma & Ashley, Barnsley - The Old Grainstore, August 2014

"This is the first time we have rented a holiday cottage- and we definately made the right choice! Lovely weekend, just like a home from home!" - The Fox family, Huddersfield - The Old Grainstore, August 2014

"Thank you so much for another lovely holiday. The cottage is fantastic along with the dogs, calves and your lovely family. See you again soon x". - Isobel, Mick, Elliot & Alex, Whitley Bay - The Old Grainstore, July 2014

"A wonderful place to stay. Thank you" - Kay & Neil Opie, Christchurch, New Zealand - The Old Grainstore, July 2014

"Loved staying here - thankyou - a lovely relaxing time" - Fran Brown, New Zealand, Kyle, Rosie & Luke Brown, Norwich - July 2014

"A perfect stay in a perfect house! Thank you, we will come back, it was wonderful x" - Vanessa, Rob, Eogann & Niamh Spencer - The Old Bothy - July 2014

"The cottage is outstanding. Beautifully decorated and so clean. All the little touches were much appreciated. We will be telling all our family and friends. Great family holiday. Thanks!" - Lynne, Isabella, Emilia, Harrison, Senga & Neil, Glasgow - The Old Grainstore, July 2014

"What a lovely peaceful place. Thank you for the welcome tray and personal touches. The cottage is to such a high standard and we have felt very at home". - Di & Adrian, Stamford - The Old Bothy, July 2014

  • Our second visit. Excellent as always". - The Simpson family, Blantyre - The Old Grainstore, June/July 2014

    "Just the most wonderful place. Joanne and Martin have been so firendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and so much thought has been put into every detail of our stay. Great energy/conservation ideals. Thank you so very much for giving us a truly fantastic holiday". - Amy & Nick, Bristol - The Old Bothy, Bristol, June 2014

    "Wonderful again, we hope to back before Christmas!" - Darren & Karen, Bolton - The Old Grainstore, June 2014

    "A lovely holiday, hot sunny weather and beautifully restored cottage. Very interesting farm and wildlife and spectacular scenery. Many thanks for everything". - Peter, Gwen & Jenny, Watford - The Old Bothy, June 2014

    "We`ve had a great break at this lovely cottage - it`s so homely and Joanne and Martin were very friendly hosts. Will definately recommend to others." - Stuart, Laura & Murray Allan, Kinross - The Old Grainstore - June 2014

    "We have really enjoyed our break in the Old Grainstore. It has been beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and the Welcome basket was a lovely touch. We look forward to a return visit". - The Woodhills, Kent - The Old Grainstore - May 2014

    "An excellent stay, a peaceful and quiet place. We would definately like to come back and explore more of the area nearby". - Mona & Rashid, Wolverhampton - The Old Bothy, May 2014

    "Fabulous - we wil be back!" - Rob & Anne, Scarborough - The Old Bothy, May 2014

    "This is a wonderful cottage, very well appointed - couldn`t be better." - Mr & Mrs Bustart, Grantham - The Old Grainstore, May 2014

  • "Thank you for a wonderful and memorable long weekend. Weather was great and the cottage was perfectly finished to a very high standard and well laid out. A typical home from home. I am sure we will be back as this is a lovely part of the world with loads to see and do. Amazing hosts and very helpful. Couldn`t have asked for better, thanks again" - The Whipps and Moran families, Essex - The Old Grainstore, April 2014

    "Excellent stay! Cottages are lovely. Would love to come back". - Wallace family - The Old Grainstore and The Old Bothy, April 14

    "A relaxing week, wonderful cottage and charming hosts" - Markus Boller & Juergen Sing, Germany - The Old Bothy, April 2014

    "This was our 2nd stay at The Old Bothy and just as good as the first time we stayed! Thank you! - The Nicholson family, The Old Bothy, April 2014

    "Beautiful accommodation, very clean and comfortable. The Baird famiy were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely come again as we enjoyed every minute of our stay here." - Riden family, Grimsby - The Old Grainstore, April 2014

  • "We had a fantastic week staying in the Old Bothy. The facilities were excellent and our kids loved playing with the owners' dogs around the farm. It was lovely to relax in such a well appointed cottage, done up to a modern standard but with some charming features as well. Being greeted with freshly baked bread and scones and with an optional tour around the farm, it was more than just a holiday cottage. We all had a lovely time." - Greg, Ginny, Alex and Leila, Macclesfield - The Old Bothy, April 2014

  • "The Grainstore is a magnificent place to stay in the heart of Cumbria. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and thoughtful to our every need. The barn is very tastefully furnished and equipped meeting all our needs. It will be a holiday our Grandaughters will never forget, they loved feeding the calves and playing and petting the dogs. Thank you all for a great stay." - The Doyle family, Norfolk - The Old Grainstore, April 2014 

    "Lovely barn conversion. A little bit of luxury. Stayed warm and cosy with minimal effort from the eco-efficient heaters (despite the winter cold outside). Owners very welcoming. Probably the best holiday cottage I've stayed in. Can't fault it. Will go again." - Helen & Gareth, Sheffield - The Old Bothy, March 2014

    "We wanted to say thank you so very much for an excellent holiday. We`ve stayed in many places over the years and your`s is by far the best. Your attention to detail and warm welcome made our holiday extra special. We are hoping to be back with our family.". - Jonathan & Louise Lonsdale, Lancs, - The Old Grainstore, March 2014

  • "Thank you for a wonderful weekend. The accomodation is first class and very cosy on a wet and blustery weekend. Joanne and Martin are wonderful hosts. Scones and bread delicious!" - The Duffy girls and husbands, West Lothian & The Wirral - The Old Grainstore, February 2014

     "Our second stay in this lovely cottage and it was just as nice as last time. Found some great walks on nearby fells and Caldbeck is worth a visit". - Helen, Edward & Matthew, Helsby, Cheshire - The Old Bothy, February 2014

  • "Absolutely wonderful AGAIN! Loved the dogs as always, we will be back!!! - The Winstanley family, Bolton, The Old Grainstore, February 2014

  • "Brilliant for family get together.It didn`t matter that it rained - warm and cosy with the log fire. Excellent throughout. Very warm and friendly owners". - Gormleys, Wards & Simpsons, The Old Grainstore, January 2014
  • "We travelled from Cyprus to the UK for Christmas: 2 adults and 2 children aged 6 and 11, and then picked Granny up on our way! So with a group ranging from 6 to 72 years a lot of boxes needed to be ticked. The property is perfectly suited to explore the Lake District and the Scottish Borders. From shopping, to castles, to museums to wildlife parks, we ran out of time in our two weeks to do everything we wanted to. Particularly in the cold, winter months - and the weather was particularly wild, we were looking for a cozy home-from-home experience. The attention to detail and comfort that Joanne and Martin have paid is second to none, creating nothing short of a small, boutique hotel experience. You feel with them, that providing a special experience goes beyond the contract detail. The working farm provides a really 'real' experience of life on a farm and how it goes on no matter what the weather or season. Again, provision of wellies for our 'Mediterranean Living' children was a touch beyond what we expected but so gratefully received and appreciated. Martin and Joanne have created something very special that I heartily recommend to everyone and anyone". - Ruth Abbott, Ayia Napa, Cyprus -  The Old Grainstore – Christmas and New Year 2013

  • “Lovely cottage and very well equipped. A very relaxed stay. Thanks.” – Anna & Lukasz, West Yorkshire, The Old Bothy, New Year week, Dec/Jan 14
  • “Fabulous – lovely cottage, great welcome, nice owners.” – Norman, Sheila, Les & Barbera, Tyne & Wear – The Old Grainstore, November 2013.
  • “Words fail me – just perfect. Wish we were staying longer. We`ll be back, thank you x” – Trish & Dave, Wigan – The Old Bothy, November 2013.

  • “A home from home! Stayed here several times and every time it is a lovely stay with everything you could need. Also best banana cake ever!” – Paul, Salford, The Old Grainstore -  November 2013.

  • “We have had a lovely relaxing holiday in your beautiful cottage. Excellent attention to detail and welcome pack was much appreciated. We will happily recommend. Many thanks.” Marie & Bill, Teeside – The Old Bothy – November 2013

  • “We have enjoyed our stay, this place is so nice, we will come here again!” – Ali & family, Portsmouth – The Old Grainstore, October 2013.
  • “Had a fantastic stay. Joanne was very accommodating and the cottage is outstanding. Thanks”. – Papanicolaou, Jones, Armitt & Harris, Manchester – The Old Bothy, November 2013
  • “Fantastic holiday in this beautiful place. We`ve never seen such a well equipped holiday cottage – amazing! The design of the building is brilliant and the finish and attention to detail is superb! The hosts are charming and so incredibly helpful and kind – even providing toys for the children - as well as calf feeding! We`ll certainly be recommending to friends and family”. – John & Irene, Edinburgh – The Old Grainstore, October 2013.
  • “Fantastic! We`ve had a great stay, boys loved feeding the calves. Fab cottage 10 out of 10!” – The Nicholson family, Sunderland – The Old Bothy, October 2013.
  • “Thanks so much for a warm welcome in a beautiful place. Excellently equipped and a great space for children too. Thanks for your thoughtfulness!” – Kirsty, Jonathan, Finlay & Callum, London – The Old Grainstore, October 2013
  • “Have had a fabulous stay in this gorgeous cottage. Everything you could need and beautifully furnished- would love to come here again!” – Helen, Edward, James & Matthew, Cheshire – The Old Bothy, October 2013.
  • “Warm welcome, a wonderful place to stay. Lovely accommodation, you have missed nothing! Green energy and the right farming concept! Thank you.” – Jurgen Sing & Torsten Doring, Germany – The Old Bothy, October 2013
  • “Lovely place. Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you”. – John & Tammy, MorecambeThe Old Bothy, October 2013
  • “Perfect! Such a lovely homely place, absolutely everything you could want and more. Will be back! Thank you”. – Jeff & Sue Bargh, Morecambe – The Old Bothy, September 2013.
  • “Fantastic accommodation. Loved the little blue room, gorgeous finishing touches. Thank you for making us feel welcome. We would love to come back!”. The Shanks & Reader family, Cumbernauld – The Old Grainstore, September 2013
  • “What a find! Wonderful cottage and fantastic hosts. Really enjoyed our time here. Will hopefully be back next year”. – John & Chris Taylor, Tetbury – The Old Bothy, September 2013
  • “Had a very enjoyable stay, the accommodation was faultless, very comfortable and cosy. What a lovely family, very welcoming and friendly. Thank you for showing us around the farm and letting us feed the calves. Will definitely be recommending to family and friends”. – The Simpson family – The Old Grainstore, September 2013
  • “A very comfortable cottage. We have enjoyed our time here and appreciated the farm tour! See you next year”. – Arthur & Freda Woodhill, Kent – The Old Bothy, September 2013
  • “Really nice place, lovely family. Had a great week. Will come back, thank you”. – Fran, Nottingham – The Old Grainstore - September 2013
  • “Accomodation is fab, very clean and the scones, eggs etc were a nice touch. Baird family are great and Martin took us for a tour around the farm. The dogs are great and I`m going to miss them!” – Linda Scott – Nottingham – The Old Grainstore, September 2013
  • “Couldn`t have asked for a better week away. Dogs were very friendly and Martin`s tour around the farm was great. Will certainly recommend and be back myself”. – John, Nottingham – The Old Grainstore, September 2013
  • “This is the best holiday cottage we have stayed in. Thank you Joanne and Martin for being excellent hosts”. – Eve & Brian, Essex – The Old Bothy, September 2013
  • “Thank you for a lovely stay at The Old Grainstore – the milk, eggs and scones were much appreciated. The cottage is wonderful and beautifully decorated. Thank you again!” – Jen, Chris, Emma, David, Amy & Lee, Tyne & Wear – The Old Grainstore – August 2013
  • “Wonderful and relaxing – see you again soon!!” – Winstanley family – The Old Bothy, August 2013
  • “The Grainstore is a very comfortable place to stay, very handy for the Lake District . Had a great time, would stay again”. – The Houston family, Northern Ireland – The Old Grainstore, August 2013
  • “A wonderful fresh, clean and pleasant property in a friendly environment. An excellent place to stay. Many thanks”. – Michelle, Jeff, Matthew & Tom, Leeds – The Old Bothy, August 2013
  • “The Grainstore at Red Hall Farm is a wonderful place to stay. The barn has been tastefully finished to an excellent standard. Joanne, martin, Jess & Will were lovely and helpful. Feeding the calves was a lovely experience. Liv & Dom have enjoyed making friends with the dogs and Liv is trying to work out a way to `dogknap` Poppy! The Grainstore is an ideal place to explore the delights that Cumbria has to offer. Thanks for a great stay”. – The Conricode family- The Old Grainstore, August 2013
  • “Great place, very comfortable. We`ve very much enjoyed our time here!” – The Dexters, Southport – The Old Bothy, August 2013
  • “Have had a really super and relaxing holiday here at Red Hall Farm. Grainstore is really nice, well fitted and had all we needed. Ciaran loved the tractors and calves. Hosts Joanne & Martin welcoming and friendly. Scones delicious, nice touch. Many, many thanks for everything, good luck in the future and hope to see you again sometime”. – Hodgkinson family – The Old Grainstore – August 2013
  • “Great job – all the comforts of home including wifi. Also inspirational farming supporting the local wildlife – very welcoming! – John, Emma, Zack & Ayla – Bristol – The Old Bothy, August 2013
  • “ We had a lovely time at the Old Graisntore. Everything was perfect and Joanne & Martin were wonderful hosts. Our children loved meeting the farm animals. The Grainstore is everything you will need to enjoy a perfect break”. – Gary, Liz, Callum, Ben, Grace – Manchester – The Old Grainstore , August 2013
  • “This cottage is stunning – finishing touches and playballs for baby – lovely scones, bread etc on arrival. Joanne and Martin fantastic hosts. Not too long before we return. Many thanks”. – Jacqueline, George, Norah and baby Joe – The Old Bothy, August 2013
  • “Beautiful place to stay – lovely family, very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Everything you need for a relaxing time”. – Friends from Silverstone –The Old Grainstore, July 2013
  • “One word can describe our time at Red Hall Farm – FANTASTIC! The Baird family are super hosts. We will be returning. Thanks”. - The Fraser Sheach family – The Old Bothy, July 2013
  • “A lovely place with a real nice family. The cottage was really nice and modern. We will definately recommend this cottage to our friends and family. All the best regard to Red Hall Farm” – The German Airforce – The Old Grainstore – June and July 2013
  • “Delightful cottage, welcoming and supportive hosts, idyllic surroundings. Strongly recommended. Ps, wifi appreciated, thank you!” – the Walsh family – The Old Bothy, June 2013
  • “A wonderful place to stay! A real joy to stay in such a beautiful barn conversion and a great base to explore the Lakes from. Yummy home made cakes on arrival were a real treat and so was the chance to feed the calves – thanks Will! The Baird family were really welcoming and friendly and so were the dogs! Would love to return!” – The Woodhills, Sittinbourne, Kent – The Old Grainstore, May 2013
  • “Have had a lovely few days. A stunning location. Beautiful accommodation. Would return for another visit”. – Fred & Mel, South Wales –The Old Bothy, June 2013
  • “Fabulous cottage, wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Very relaxing place. Would highly recommend a stay here. 10 out of 10”. – Helen Scott, Caldicot – The Old Bothy – May 2013

 

Contact and Enquiries

For availability and prices please contact us - you can use the Contact page on this website, or phone or email us using the details below. We promise to get back to you immediately!

Red Hall Farm Cottages
Wigton
Cumbria
CA7 8NX

t: 016973 42249
m: 07906 852224

stay@redhallcottages.co.uk

4 Star AccommodationGold Award

 

Recent Customer Reviews

"Our best child friencly holiday ever! So much attention to detail and amazing environmental awareness. We loved every minute of our holiday and will be back!" - Malenks, Monica & Leonie, Leeds - The Old Grainstore, August 2017

"AMAZING holiday cottage. Everything you need and wonderfully presented. Thankyou!" - Gareth, Ceri, Alice & Esther, Bradford - The Old Grainstore, August 2017

"This is our 3rd stay, it's like a 2nd home for us. Exceptional, spotless and homely. The welcome we receive is 2nd to none!" - Gayle, Derek, Peter, Evelyn & Olivia, Scotland - The Old Grainstore, August 2017

"Another wonderful stay, thank you so very much! Keep doing what you do, it's perfect! The cottage is amazing as always. Everything we needed, clean and comfortable. We are all sad to leave" - Linda, Roger, Christina, Ashton & Phoenix, Herts - The Old Grainstore, July 2017

"Perfect stay - the cottage could not have been bettter for us. Great hosts, warm welcome - we can't wait to come back! Thanks so much 10/10" - Cavanagh family, Glasgow, The Old Bothy, July 2017

"Our first return visit. A perfect place for a fabulous holiday. Thank you, we will be back again!" - Piper family, Edinburgh - The Old Bothy, July 2017

"A fantastic holiday with our 1 and 3 year olds. Couldn't have asked for better". Team Pochram, Sheffield, The Old Bothy, July 2017

"Beautiful cottage, lovely hosts and fantastic location. We will return soon." - Noms family, Whitby, The Old Bothy, June 2017

"Fantastic cottage - good beds, good kitchen and equipment. Friendly and helpful hosts. Thank you very much". - Jenny, Abe, Coby & Jan, The Netherlands, The Old Grainstore, July 2017

"This was a lovely stay, very relaxing and peaceful. The cottages is just beautiful, thank you". - Clare, David, Isla, North Shields - The Old Bothy, June 2017

"Fantastic stay. The cottage has everything you need, couldn't ask for more - the hosts have thought of everything. The outdoor space is a real plus. Photos on website do not do it justice. Thank you so much". The Laidlaws, Manchester, The Old Grainstore, June 2017 

 

 

more reviews

Beautiful location, very central (we visited Penrith, Carlisle, Gretna Green and Keswick).
The property has been converted to a high standard and beds were comfortable.
Lots of nice touches such as jam, eggs and cake upon arrival and Joanne even put the log burner on for us before we arrived so that the cottage was warmed up for us.
There is a lot of information from tourist areas locally, which is extremely helpful if you are not familiar with the area.
Lovely relaxing break, hope to visit again soon.